Adult Only Caravan and Campsite Somerset

Adult Only Caravan & Camping Park

Self-catering Lodge Accommodation

Sparkford Somerset

01963440002

longhazelpark@hotmail.com

OPEN ALL YEAR

accommodation available for key workers

PAST REVIEWS

Richard and Kathy Stevens 2020.2.16 14:22

We visited Long Hazel over the Valentine's weekend. We really enjoyed our stay as it was so relaxing. Alan and Pam were always on hand if needed but left us alone so that we could really unwind which is just what we needed. Loved the heart shaped chocolates on arrival! We have already booked our return visit.


Reg & Patricia 2020.2.10 12:23

Just spent a long weekend in our motorhome and despite the bad storms the owners put us in a very sheltered spot where we felt at ease. The facilities are second to none with 16 amp electric hook-up so we were able to use our electric heater without fear of it tripping out. Cosy pubs nearby serving hot food at a reasonable price. We took our dogs with us in the bar without any problems. It was good to see the spring flowers already coming out and we are sure in summer the whole site looks beautiful. We will be back.

Positive focus on recycling and accessibility. Good focus on working with local businesses and encouragement for local community to utilise site for visitors. Excellent ideas for local business connection running alongside sustainability projects. There is a strong focus on addressing the environmental impacts. The harvesting of rain and grey water for re-use was evident. Grass cuttings, food waste and all manner of recycling is well signed, encouraged and tidily dealt with in labelled containers. Even the chickens play a part with their waste. The introduction this summer of planting tropical plants has played a part in reducing water usage. Careful planting to encourage wild life has already resulted in increased sightings.


Bristol, Bath and Somerset Tourism Awards feedback December 2019

Penny 2019.10.23 10:16

I stayed here for a week as I was attending a course locally at Bruton. It was my first trip out in my new VW campervan and as a single woman I felt very safe as the gates are locked at night and the owners Alan and Pamela live on site. I parked on a hardstanding which was also great as it meant that I could get in and out of my campervan without getting my feet wet. I would rate the park 10/10 and I will definitely be returning.

Grounds are very well maintained, with grass well kept and no litter noted. Hard standing areas are well compacted, with areas being well defined An excellent recycling facility, which was tidy and bins were well labelled, easing the process for the guest.


The ladies and gents toilets / showers have had a major overhaul this year New wet walling in the showers gives a pristine finish. New round mirrors have been added, giving guests a bigger and better viewpoint than before.


An immaculate level of housekeeping noted throughout the park. Cleanliness rating 40/40 100% 5*


85%, 4* graded

VisitEngland Assessment 8 October 2019

Jim and Sue Thurston 2019.9.15 20:03

We recently stayed at Long Hazel Park for two weeks in our motorhome. We cannot believe that we chose such a fantastic park. The recently renovated shower block is so clean, well lit and warm. I myself am disabled and I used the accessible suite and found it suited my needs perfectly. It is a wet room and had plenty of mirrors so that I could do my make up with a large full length mirror so that I could see myself in my new outfit for a wedding we were attending nearby. We will definitely be returning in the not too distant future as we found the park so convenient to visit lots of attractions in the area. Bruton for us was one of the highlights with the Hauser and Wirth gallery and restaurant. As National Trust members we also visited lots of houses and gardens that are close by including Montacute House and Stourhead. There are several very nice pubs nearby serving food so we found ourselves going out most evenings. Thank you again Alan and Pam and we will see you again very soon!


Keith Rolinson 2019.8.26 20:09

First time at this site but certainly won't be the last had a lovely relaxed weekend away. The site was immaculate as were the facilities made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The new (Reception) layout and internal decoration is very smart and now creates a positive first impression of the Park. Attractive mature specimen trees, mature hedges and seasonal planting with lots more bee and butterfly plantings noted again this year.


Lots of improvements and investment since last visit. Cleanliness rating 40/40 100% 5*


84%, 4* graded

VisitEngland Assessment 20 August 2019

Alan Charlton 2019.7.14 16:33

Dear Alan and Pamela,

Just a note to thank you for another pleasant stay (our third year running) this week end at your very comfortable venue. As usual, you looked after us splendidly and unobtrusively, which we appreciate. Thank you again, and hope to see you again next year. Good luck for the rest of the season.


Paul Owen 2019.7.14 14:26

Hi sorry I didn't get to say goodbye but thanks for a lovely weekend from me, Mark, Luke and the rest of the group hope to see you both next year. Regards Paul


Linda and Tim Brown 2019.7.8 14:31
Hi, sorry we missed you yesterday. We had a great time, what a wonderful lodge, it was just perfect, and such a peaceful location. Would like to thankyou for the lovely roses, which put a happy smile on my face. We will be back again soon. Many Thanks to you all Linda and Tim

It was good to visit Long Hazel Park for this routine daytime call visit and many thanks to Alan for his time and assistance in showing me around on this occasion. It was encouraging to hear of the ongoing developments and upgrades since then. All areas of the park appeared in very good condition with well- tended lawns and landscaping and recently planted tress and hedges doing well. The newly refurbished toilet and shower block is another welcome feature and all looking in especially good order at this visit. It was good to have an opportunity to view inside one of the lodges which appeared very well maintained.


We look forward to returning in due course and in the meantime confirm a grading at Four Pennants with an increase in the Merit Score to 88% is now well deserved.


Philip Lamb, The AA Hotel & Hospitality Services 25 June 2019

Alistair and Carol Cole 2019.5.27 13:13

Hi both. Although I have left a review, we want to personally thank you for making our stay at Long Hazel so relaxing. Unfortunately we could not track you down as we left (you were obviously busy elsewhere) to express our thanks then. We greatly appreciated your attention to maintaining the highest standards of customer service and keeping the site in such a splendid condition. Keep up the good work We intend returning in the future. Very best wishes Alistair and Carol Cole


Tim Spiers 2018.10.22 17:52

Two friends and I recently camped at Long Hazel Park. We chose it because of its excellent reviews and its location - convenient for the Haynes Motor Museum and the Fleet Air Arm Museum, both of which we wanted to visit. Pamela and Alan made us feel very welcome, and all the facilities were exactly as described and as one would wish. I would wholeheartedly recommend Long Hazel Park to anyone touring in Somerset.


Antony and Jacky Danaos 2018.9.3 08:27

We stayed August bank holiday 2018. Had a lovely stay. The hosts were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nice location, and near some great spots, and good on-site facilities (clean and in good condition). Thank you Alan & Pamela.


Margaret and Gary Brimming 2018.8.20 07:53

Fantastic site, well equipped with everything you need for a peaceful break. Very clean site and well organised. Local pizza company came to site and the pizzas were delicious. Thanks for all you help and local knowledge, hope to see you again soon.


Reg Cranton 2018.8.13 19:55

Spent the weekend in the Black Forest cabin, specially adapted for persons with disabilities. It is absolutely perfect for anyone with limited mobility/wheelchair user. Nothing was too much trouble for hosts Alan & Pam. Highly recommended!!


Lesley and Richard Dellow 2018.8.5 20:24

We recently spent a very enjoyable weekend, with our friends, at this lovely peaceful site. The facilities were spotless, as was the site itself. The owner, Alan was very friendly and helpful and we will definitely be returning.


Mr & Mrs Alfrey 2018.7.21

Thank you very much. Enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back again.


Ron & Carol Brewer 2018.7.15 13:50

After a calamitous journey down we chilled out in this haven of peace and quiet. What a lovely site, excellent pitches, great facilities and the owner bent over backwards to help us when we needed it. Suffice to say we shall be visiting again under less strenuous circumstances. Thank you. (the Landrover breakdown people)

Safe barrier and gated entrance with CCTV coverage for added security. Spaciously arranged level grass and hard standing pitches clearly defined and weed free. Lots of landscaping done this year including some newly laid beech hedging, tree tidying and hedge cutting tolet in more light.


The new website is very good, easily accessed and navigated and clearly describes the Park and facilities. Very good use of social media now noted. Cleanliness 40/40 100% 5*


82%, 4* graded

VisitEngland Assessment 12 July 2018

Carol Mills 2018.7.9 09:37

Lovely peaceful weekend on this site for Yeovilton air day. Could see some aircraft. Easy journey to airfield too. Lovely people staying there gave hubby a lift. Loved the adult only. Very tidy, clean and well organised and super friendly owners. Will be back.


Pearl Cusworth 2018.7.8 17:26

Thank you so much for a lovely weekend stay at Long Hazel Park. We would like to compliment you on your hospitality, grounds, shower block, and everything, just such a beautiful place. Pizza was beautiful too. Thank you... hopefully visit again.


Michelle Ballard 2018.7.5 18:05

We were looking for an adult campsite to relax for a weekend with friends. Was a fantastic friendly campsite with beautiful grounds, great facilities, great location, owner was very welcoming and helpful. We will definitely come back again soon.


Adrian Monks 2018.6.31 17:01

Just spent 7 days at this excellent site. Campsites don't come much better than this. Spotless facilities, excellent owners. The Red Lion and Kingsdown pub worth visiting and the farm shop just through Sparkford. Don't miss Friday night pizzas. Ice cream van calls as well. Fleet Air Arm Museum very good.

This well maintained adults only park was looking very good on my recent visit. I enjoyed a good chat with the hardworking owners Mr and Mrs Walton and Mr Walton kindly showed me around. Despite the recent bad weather the pitches and surrounding areas were really looking good. The toilets and showers were very clean and fresh with good attention to detail paid to the cleaning. The reception area was clean with a laundry room to the rear and a good supply of tourist information leaflets. A pizza van arrives on a Friday night offering an alternative for campers needing a break from cooking. The lodge area was clean and tidy, well screened from the touring park. Mr Walton explained new signage was on its way and this will further enhance this park.


I can confirm that the AA classification remains at 4 Pennant with a slight increase in the quality score to a very good 86%.


Chris Pike, The AA Hotel & Hospitality Services 5 April 2018

Tina & Peter 2017.12.31 11:10

Thank you for providing lovely clean and tidy facilities in peaceful surroundings! We will definitely be back. Happy New Year!

Refuse points and recycling all neat and tidy. A huge credit to the family. Tourist Information has been tidied this year and presents well with up to date leaflets and OS map.


A lot of new soundproof fencing has been erected to cut down road noise. Attractive mature specimen trees, mature hedges and seasonal plantings. New herb planters noted this year. 8 new picnic tables. Cleanliness 40/40 100% 5*


83%, 4* graded

VisitEngland Assessment 25 November 2017

Tina & Peter 2017.12.31 11:10

Thank you for providing lovely clean and tidy facilities in peaceful surroundings! We will definitely be back. Happy New Year!


Martin & Sheila from West Yorkshire 2017.11.3 11:25

Stayed at this lovely site for 3 nights late October 2017! What a beautiful little oasis, so well looked after by Alan who is a lovely gentleman! Pitches are large and flat, the facilities are kept in a super condition. The position is great whether passing through for a night or a longer stay to visit the area which is lovely! Thank you Alan and Family, we shall pass by again! Martin & Sheila

The overall park was looking in very good condition throughout, all very neat and tidy – it’s a small adults-only park that is always very well maintained, mainly by Mr Walton himself. The facility block was fresh and very clean and is well positioned in the centre of the park but screened by hedges – a very good arrangement. The lodge area is also well screened from the touring park by a tall hedge (being cut at time of inspection). Lodges are available to buy or hire. There’s a good choice of hardstandings, some capable of taking large RV’s. A really excellent adult’s only park and it is confirmed that the AA classification remains at 4 Pennant with a good quality score of 85%.


Colin Church, The AA Hotel & Hospitality Services 24 August 2017

Geoff Whelby 2017.7.26 14:26

Beautiful site and the owners are very helpful and welcoming. Some have mentioned some road noise which we didn't notice at all. Immaculately clean throughout and we would highly recommend this site. Thank you for being so helpful and for a lovely stay.


Russ Porteous 2017.7.22 21:28

A nice warm welcome on arrival (despite the torrential July rain). Was unable to book a cab to a function at the Haynes Museum and was given a lift by Alan which I felt was above and beyond the level of service expected from campsite owners. Would love to stay again one day.


Lisa Watkins 2017.7.13 20:31

Fabulous Campsite. Very friendly owner. Will definitely stay again. Stayed in June 2017 x


John and Pauline Dennis 2017.7.10 17.27

Very nice welcome when we arrived. Well looked after site not too big which we appreciated and most of all very quiet. We stayed for 3 nights and went to the air day which was only 2m away so perfect. Thank you for keeping a lovely site


Alan and Mark Charlton 2017.7.9 20:38

Nice to have met you both this weekend. Thank you for a very pleasant short stay at your very nice park. We congratulate you on the way you run things. We both felt very comfortable and welcome in good quiet surroundings. We are now both back in our respective homes in Kent but hope one day to return. Good luck for the rest of the season. All good wishes.


Mr and Mrs Tuck 2017.6.20 19:35

Beautifully managed touring park with lovely trees and wildlife. Enjoyed our stay.


Michael and Rhodanne 2017.5.21 15:21

We stayed 5 delightful nights at this excellent Caravan Park. The facilities were second to none and the welcome could not be matched. We were close to many NT destinations which we visited. Thank you for the welcome and care while we were with you.


Kath Martin 2017.5.15 14:30

Stayed here for 7 nights from 7th May 2017. Warm welcome, from owner Alan, who was very informative about the site and the history of the surrounding area. Alan and Pam put in a lot of hard work to keep the site spotless and pristine. Five minutes walk into High Street to a bus stop either to Shepton Mallet or Yeovil. From Yeovil buses onwards to Wells and other places. Ideal if in a motorhome or walking holiday. Makes it easy to reach parts of Monarch's Way and the Leyland Way. Scenery beautiful and breathtaking views helped by the lovely weather we had. Well worth a stay.


Stephanie & Martyn Hayne 2016.7.26 12:51

We are due back to this lovely campsite soon, having stayed here twice previously. A lovely level site with spotless toilets. Last year we stayed here because it offered a disabled facility that was excellent. I am also glad to read in the reviews that the pub down the road is being refurbished, look forward to visitng there.

This small park was looking excellent throughout and despite the very wet recent weather the grass was looking good. The attention to detail on this park is excellent and it was noticed that all hardstanding pitches are completely weed free, plus areas of grass had been scarified and seeded and now looked really good.

· The ladies showers have had the tiles regrouted and now look excellent – it is planned to do the same in the gents.

· New flooring has been put into the reception building – which will be easy to clean and looks much better.

· New picnic tables and some restored.

· New hair dryer in ladies


The whole park is exceptionally clean and tidy and has the added advantage of having two lodges available for hire – one of which has been upgraded with a new walk in shower etc. A really excellent adults only park and it is confirmed that the AA classification remains at 4 Pennant with a slightly increased quality score of 85%.


Colin Church, The AA Hotel & Hospitality Services 17 June 2016

Paul and Mandy 2016.2.10 12:22

We stayed at this lovely site for a few weeks at the end of Jan/Feb 2016, prior to starting work. We were welcomed by the owner Alan on arrival, the toilets and site are kept clean and tidy. A short walk from the site approximately 5 mins, is the local pub the Sparkford Inn, which has a new management team, the pub is being refurbished, the staff are friendly and welcoming, the beer is perfect and the food is spot on, ignore all previous reports regarding the pub. We recommend a stay at Long Hazel, being close to many attractions, thank you Alan and Pamela.


Gill & Stan Stocker 2015.7.22 07:38

We couldn't have chosen a better place for our first visit to a campsite, in our five day old motorhome. Alan was extremely helpful, showing us all the facilities, and then giving us a choice of pitches, to choose from. The pitch we chose was closest to the A303, but the road noise was minimal, if non existent. The layout of the site is excellent, and it is obvious that a lot of care and attention has been given to every aspect. When we told fellow campers that this was our first time their advice filled three pages of notepaper. As one seasoned camper said to us "we are not strangers, but new friends to be made". We will return in September.

The park had been virtually full over the past weekend following the Yeovilton Air Show, which was very good. The park was looking well up to its usual high standard and the attention to detail is really very good, and both grass and hedges looked neat and tidy. The toilet and shower block was very clean and fresh. It was noted that extra LED lighting had been added. There are four seasonal caravans on site but all were neat and tidy. There are also two lodges available for hire.

Overall an excellent adults-only park and it is confirmed that the AA classification remains at 4 Pennant with a high quality score of 84%.


Colin Church, The AA Hotel & Hospitality Services 14 July 2015

Richard & Christine Austen 2015.7.6 10:41

We stayed at this glorious site for two weeks at the beginning of June. It is quite clear that the owners, Alan and Pam, take great pride in maintaining the grounds and full facilities to the highest standards. The magnificent countryside of Somerset and Dorset is right on the doorstep and Alan has a wealth of local knowledge on hand. We didn't waste a second on this holiday. We would highly recommend the site - this will be the only destination for us when visiting the area, again. Best regards to you both.


Janette Salt 2015.5.30 09:08

Stayed her last week for just one night as we were en route to Devon, it was beautiful, facilities were faultless, clean and well maintained. I would recommend this site to all friends and family. Thank you very much for such a lovely stay


Jean Cragg 2015.5.19 19:26

I stayed here for three night recently and just wanted to thank Alan and Pam for making me feel so welcome. The site and the facilities are immaculate and the welcome is warm, helpful and friendly. I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a peaceful haven which is still close to the A303, but very quiet and has lots of local attractions nearby. I visited the Fleet Air Arm Museum and the Haynes Motor Museum, both of which are close by.


Ken & Wendy Wilkinson 2015.1.27 16:27

We stayed at Long Hazel in October for the first time - and certainly not the last. This is an extremely clean site all round, well laid out, and the owners are most welcoming and friendly. It is pleasing to see such good recycling facilities too. It is also a very peaceful site which is good to find these days. As another reviewer said - 'it is a gem of a site'. For us it is ideal, as it is close to Yeovil where my wife's 94 year old mother lives, and also is perfect for visiting the National Trust at Stourhead (a favourite of ours), amongst other local attractions. We are looking forward very much to our return in April, which we have just booked!


Steve 2015.1.11 10:03

My wife and I have just returned from an eight night stay at Long Hazel Park. We have a fifth wheel tourer and so always check with site owners before booking, site owner Alan assured us we'd be fine bringing our fifth wheel.


The site is adults only which suited us fine. As soon as we arrived through the gates Alan greeted us and showed us to our pitch. The pitch was more than big enough for our rig, and we were soon set up. We arrived on the 27th of December originally for seven nights and into the new year but, we decided to stay an extra night as were having such a nice time. The park is spotless and very well kept, and is a credit to the owners Pamela and Alan, the location of the park allowed us to use it as a base to do our daily visits from. We went to Yeovil, Lyme Regis, Burnham on Sea, Cheddar Gorge, and Wiltshire amongst other places, so the location suited us as it's fairly central to many attractions.


There is a pub very close by which is under new management, and there are improvements planned, we spent New Years Eve there and had a nice time, and only a very short walk back to Long Hazel. I have seen in some of the reviews that traffic from the A303 can be heard at the park, but in all honesty it wasn't an issue for my wife or myself, we slept very sound every night. There is also a handy Spar shop and McDonalds at the petrol station very close by, and I can recommend the fresh free range eggs that Alan sells from his own chickens at Long Hazel, the eggs are superb! Pamela and Alan made our stay very enjoyable, and we will definitely be going back in the future, and we recommend this site to everybody without hesitation. Thanks very much Pamela and Alan for your hospitality. Regards Steve and Christine

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

As a small business, your feedback is really important to us and recommendations are what keeps us in business year to year!


As they say, "when you support a small business, an actual person does a happy dance!"

*required